Topics / topic

Cyber Defense

9 items across 4 editions · appeared in the last 3 editions in a row. First seen Fri 11 Sep, last seen Tue 15 Sep. Traced across 1 weekly review.

How this story has evolved

From the week in review: the connections, developments and open questions filed under Cyber Defense, newest week first.

Week of 7–13 September 2026

Connection
AI-driven vulnerability discovery showed up on both sides of the ledger in the same week

On 8 September Microsoft shipped updates for "at least 974 security holes", and Krebs on Security wrote that Adobe, Cisco, Google, Mozilla and Oracle "all have recently credited AI-assisted research with increasing their patch cadence and volume". The same day VulnCheck reported that of 26,153 findings Anthropic says Claude discovered, "only 202 (0.8%) have been fixed". On 10 September Anthropic's own threat report described the GTG-10007 cluster running an autonomous exploit foundry that produced "more than a dozen possible zero day findings in a single month".

Development · Tue 8 Sep, Wed 9 Sep
Microsoft patches at least 974 flaws, its biggest batch ever, while only 0.8% of 26,153 Claude-found vulnerabilities are recorded as fixed

On 8 September Microsoft issued updates for "at least 974 security holes in its Windows operating systems and other software, by far its biggest single patch batch ever", Krebs on Security reports. It "obliterates the software giant's previous record set in July, when it released updates for at least 570 security vulnerabilities", and brings 2026's total to "more than 2,600, more than twice Microsoft's previous record-setting patch year in 2020 (1,245) and with three more months to go". Two zero-days under active exploitation, CVE-2026-81963 and CVE-2026-85880, were fixed; "Fully 113 of the bugs addressed today earned Microsoft's 'critical' rating."

Tuesday, 15 September 2026

AWS Deception Benchmark: 12 models wrongly flag 41% to 99% of safe code as vulnerable mixedCompany claimPreprintSingle source

  • Help Net Security reported on 14 September that AWS has released the Deception Benchmark, a public dataset of "14,822 samples across 16 programming languages and more than 70 Common Weakness Enumeration (CWE) categories", of which "9,695 are scored. These include 6,988 code-level and 2,707 environment-gated challenges." The deceptive samples place real vulnerability patterns next to controls that stop them being exploited.
  • AWS evaluated "12 models from five providers". With direct prompting, Help Net Security reports, models "incorrectly flagged 41% to 99% of safe code".
  • Asking the models to prove exploitability "reduced false positives by 17 to 74 percentage points" but pushed false negatives to "7% to 44%". AWS treats false-positive and false-negative rates below 10% as "a minimum bar for production use", and Help Net Security reports "None of the tested configurations met both thresholds."
  • This is AWS evaluating models on a benchmark AWS built, and the accompanying whitepaper is not peer reviewed. Help Net Security reports the models struggled most with environment-gated cases such as Kubernetes network policies.

CrowdStrike CEO rejects the slowdown case — "The genie's out of the bottle" — as cyber stocks lead the S&P 500 Update

  • CrowdStrike chief executive George Kurtz told CNBC's "Mad Money" on Monday: "The genie's out of the bottle. There's plenty of models that are already out there, both frontier as well as open-weight models, that can already be dangerous." He was responding to Dario Amodei's essay calling on frontier labs to slow the pace of model development.
  • CNBC reports CrowdStrike surged nearly 14% on Monday to a record-high close above $235 per share and Palo Alto Networks jumped just over 13%, and that both stocks have gained 100% year to date. Benzinga, writing at 9:23 AM ET on 14 September, reported Okta up roughly 4% in the same rotation.
  • Kurtz argued the security industry has to work at runtime rather than at the frontier: "We can look at what these programs do. We can put our own guardrails around them at runtime… and we can prevent them from doing bad things." He added "What I do know is that the agents are dangerous" and "You need equivalent or better AI defenses to combat the AI agents."
  • Kurtz also cautioned against regulation, saying "If we put too much regulation around this, then it's going to stifle innovation." CNBC published no measurement of AI-related attack volume alongside the interview; the share moves are market reaction, not evidence about model risk.

Monday, 14 September 2026

FBI and Google analysts say AI bug-hunting is stripping the obscurity that protected legacy and industrial code harmfulSingle source

  • Brett Leatherman, assistant director of the FBI's Cyber Division, told The Register in a piece published on 13 September: "You see open source platforms that have been visible to the tech community for a decade, these libraries that are run in 80 percent of web servers out there, people have stress-tested those for 10 years, and the community believed that they were really secure. The latest models were able to break those and say, 'yeah, there's significant vulnerabilities in here.'"
  • John Hultquist, chief analyst at Google Threat Intelligence Group, told the publication that AI "is excellent at technical troubleshooting, at knowing obscure systems and helping you make your way through it, and this makes me very concerned about industrial control systems", adding that it also helps attackers work down through the operating system "and even down into the firmware".
  • The piece notes that five US agencies said attackers used AI-generated exploitation scripts to break into internet-exposed Siemens S7 Series programmable logic controllers at water, manufacturing, energy and other critical facilities, warning: "This is not a theoretical risk – it is an active threat." Trend Micro Zero Day Initiative's Dustin Childs is quoted the day after a Microsoft Patch Tuesday that addressed 974 CVEs.
  • Only one outlet carries these interviews. The officials describe a direction of travel, not a measured rate: none gives a count of AI-discovered vulnerabilities, and the 80 percent figure is Leatherman's characterisation of how widely the libraries are deployed, not a count of compromised servers.

Sunday, 13 September 2026

Intezer study of 16.9 million SOC alerts reports AI-related alerts up 685% from February to June 2026 Company claimSingle source

  • Intezer researcher Nicole Fishbein writes that of "roughly 16.9 million SOC alerts we reviewed, about 73,000 (0.43%) were AI-related", and that AI-related alerts were "up 685% between February and June 2026".
  • Of those AI-related alerts, Intezer classifies "94.1% noise, 5.8% genuine risk, and 0.02% real attacks", and reports finding no confirmed breaches caused by internal AI agents.
  • The figures describe alert volume inside customer environments, not attacks: the overwhelming majority are false positives, and the growth is measured against a February baseline the piece does not give in absolute terms.
  • This is vendor-contributed content from a company that sells automated alert-investigation products. The article does not disclose customer counts, sector mix, geography or methodology, and the research has not been independently validated.

Friday, 11 September 2026

MCPSEC flags 143 of 177 MCP server tools as prompt-injection vulnerable from registration metadata alone, recovering 98.9% of verified vulnerabilities beneficial

  • The paper (arXiv 2609.10854, submitted 9 September, announced in the cs.CR new listing) proposes "no-box" vulnerability analysis — auditing a system with neither access nor runtime interaction, using only functionality metadata. The prototype, MCPSEC, audits Model Context Protocol servers for indirect prompt injection using only the tool metadata exposed at server registration.
  • Across 20 widely deployed MCP servers comprising 177 tools, human evaluators confirmed 95 vulnerable tools. MCPSEC identified 143 tools as vulnerable and recovered 94 of the 95 verified vulnerabilities (98.9% recall), against 80 (84.2%) for an LLM baseline, producing a hypothesised exploitation technique for each.
  • The gap between 143 flagged and 95 confirmed implies a substantial false-positive rate, which the abstract does not quantify as a precision figure. The authors are explicit that hypotheses require later validation when access is available. The servers audited are not named in the abstract.

Microsoft: AI-assisted invoice-fraud campaign sent over 1 million phishing emails in three days, 87.7% aimed at US targets harmful

  • Microsoft reported on 10 September a business email compromise campaign that sent more than 1 million phishing emails between 3 and 5 August, with 87.7% directed at users in the United States, targeting IT services, business advisory and consumer goods firms. Messages impersonated executives and requested ACH payments of nearly $50,000 per target.
  • Microsoft attributes AI assistance to the template construction rather than to the sending infrastructure, citing extensive HTML comments, structured section labelling, verbose descriptive comments, em dashes, banner formatting and highly uniform templates whose invoice identifiers stayed constant while organisation details changed per target.
  • Named indicators include the ServiceNow-impersonating domain service-nowinc[.]com and domainlify[.]net in reply-to addresses. Recommended mitigations are automatic attack disruption in Defender XDR, Zero-hour Auto Purge, and correctly configured SPF, DKIM and DMARC.
  • Microsoft does not name a threat actor, and the AI evidence is stylistic inference from artefacts left in the templates rather than direct observation of a model in use. No losses are quantified.

DISA director says decades of deferred maintenance left DoD networks exposed as adversary cyber agents arrive, with zero-day volume up tenfold

  • Lt. Gen. Paul Stanton, director of the Defense Information Systems Agency, said on 10 September that decades of delayed maintenance have left Defense Department networks increasingly vulnerable in the AI age, and that the number of zero-day vulnerabilities has "multiplied by a factor of ten." On adversary automation he said: "The ways in which an adversary could employ cyber agents is mind-boggling in terms of the complexity."
  • Stanton's stated remedy is to stop deferring patching and operating-system upgrades, treat networks as weapon systems, and train cyber operators on them the way combat troops train with weapons, with validated proficiency standards.
  • On defensive AI specifically, DISA intends to require that human operators understand agent behaviour before deployment and to use digital twins to forecast the impact of an agent before it is let loose on a live network — a notably more cautious posture than commercial agent rollouts.
  • No budget figures, timelines or patch backlog counts were given in the reporting, so the scale of the remediation task is not quantified.

US Cyber Command names Ronzelle Green its first chief AI officer as its AI-for-cyber budget line jumps from $5m to $138m

  • Reported 10 September: Rear Adm. Ronzelle Green becomes chief artificial intelligence officer at US Cyber Command. He previously led research and development at the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency, was CIO at the Defense Counterintelligence and Security Agency, and directed Commonwealth Integration in the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Intelligence and Security, working with Five Eyes partners.
  • Budget documents cited in the reporting show the "AI for Cyber Operations" line rising from $5 million in fiscal 2026 to $138 million in fiscal 2027 — a roughly 27-fold increase. CYBERCOM states it "must field AI" capability to process data and identify threats faster than humans alone, to maintain decision superiority.
  • Multiple sources in the report say Green's main task is consolidating fragmented AI pilots that currently run independently across different units — an organisational problem rather than a technical one.
  • The budget figure is a request line, not appropriated spending, and the reporting does not specify which programmes it funds.

GSA replaces $1-a-year ChatGPT deal with $0 licence fees and 50% off usage through 2028, expanding eligibility from 1m to about 23m government workers mixed

  • Announced 10 September: OpenAI and the General Services Administration agreed a OneGov arrangement running through 31 December 2028, replacing the $1-per-agency deal that expires on 30 September 2026. OpenAI waives its $15 per-user monthly licence fee and discounts token usage 50%, with no platform-access fee or spend commitment.
  • Eligibility extends beyond federal agencies to state, local and tribal governments, taking the addressable population from about 1 million to roughly 23 million government employees. Agencies can buy directly, through resellers or via supported cloud marketplaces. OpenAI's Daybreak cybersecurity platform is offered at half price.
  • GSA Administrator Ed Forst said the OneGov strategy is "positioning the federal government for the future by integrating advanced, AI-enabled capabilities into agency operations." Sam Altman said secure access to the best AI tools can help government "be more efficient, strengthen cybersecurity, and improve the services people rely on."
  • The shift from a flat fee to discounted consumption moves the cost risk onto agencies: there is no cap on what usage can total. No dollar figures for expected spend were disclosed, and OpenAI's own announcement page blocks automated retrieval.